Researchers & Instructors

People in the department are listed alphabetically according to their role at the university. ?
We also list researchers according to the research interests in the Research Areas pages.?
Name Title Email Phone Number
Ian Affleck University Killam Professor iaffleck@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2137
Jonathan Bagger Professor / Director of TRIUMF bagger@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 222-7353
Simon Bates Professor of Teaching simon.bates@ tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-4494
Mona Berciu Professor berciu@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6146
Aaron Boley Assistant Professor acboley@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-2641
Douglas Bonn Professor bonn@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Douglas Bryman Professor/Warren Chair bryman@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-0584
Sarah Burke Associate Professor saburke@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-8796
James Charbonneau Instructor james@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-2378
Matthew Choptuik Professor choptuik@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2412
Andrea Damascelli Professor damascelli@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4551
Joshua Folk Associate Professor jfolk@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2535
Marcel Franz Professor franz@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6533
Colin Gay Professor and Head cgay@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3150 / (604) 822-2753
Brett Gladman Professor gladman@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6244
Mark Halpern Professor halpern@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6435
Carl Hansen Associate Professor chansen@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-3229
Michael Hasinoff Professor, UG Chair hasinoff@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2360
Christopher Hearty Professor/IPP Scientist hearty@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-9163
Jeremy Heyl Professor heyl@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-0995
Paul Hickson Professor hickson@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6706
Gary Hinshaw Professor/Graduate Chair hinshaw@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-4063
Javed Iqbal Dir. Sci. Co-op/Adjunct Prof. iqbal@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2465
Joss Ives Instructor 1 joss@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-2633
David Jones Associate Professor djjones@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2754
Joanna Karczmarek Associate Professor joanna@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2929
Robert Kiefl Professor kiefl@triumf.ca (604) 822-3037
Evert Koster Term Faculty Member evko@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2559
Andrzej Kotlicki Term Faculty Member kotlicki@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3645
Reiner Kruecken Professor Reiner.Kruecken@triumf.ca (604) 222-7365
Alison Lister Associate Professor alister@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-9240
Domingo Louis-Martinez Instructor 1 (on leave) martinez@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5864
Alex MacKay Professor mackay@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6447
Kirk Madison Associate Professor madison@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-5078
Andre Marziali Professor andre@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5489
Jaymie Matthews Professor matthews@astro. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2696
Thomas Mattison Associate Professor mattison@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-9690
Janis McKenna Professor janis@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4337
Carl Michal Associate Professor michal@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2432
Valery Milner Associate Professor vmilner@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3399
Scott Oser Professor oser@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3191
Steven Plotkin Associate Professor steve@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-8813
Arman Rahmim Associate Professor rahmim@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
Robert Raussendorf Associate Professor raussen@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3253
Stefan Reinsberg Associate Professor reinsberg@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2925
Harvey Richer Professor richer@astro. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4134
Georg Rieger Instructor 1 rieger@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4269
Joerg Rottler Professor jrottler@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3510
Moshe Rozali Professor rozali@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3581
George Sawatzky Professor sawatzky@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3540
Kristin Schleich Associate Professor schleich@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6286
Douglas Scott Professor dscott@astro. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2802
Gordon Semenoff Professor gordonws@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5947
Kris Sigurdson Associate Professor krs@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5879
Vesna Sossi Professor vesna@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3771
Ingrid Stairs Professor stairs@astro. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6796
Philip Stamp Professor stamp@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5711
Jared Stang Lecturer jared@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5527
William Unruh Professor unruh@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3273
Mark Van Raamsdonk Professor mav@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2136
Ludovic Van Waerbeke Professor waerbeke@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5515
Chris Waltham Professor cew@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5712
Lorne Whitehead Professor whitehed@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3075
Don Witt Senior Instructor donwitt@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2294
Ziliang Ye Assistant Professor zlye@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-2984
Jeff Young Professor young@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-8779
Ariel Zhitnitsky Professor arz@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5388
Fei Zhou Professor feizhou@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5098
Ke Zou Assistant Professor kzou@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-9955
Name Title Email Phone Number
John Behr TRIUMF Res.Sc./Adjunct, PHAS behr@triumf.ca (604) 222-1047 x6371
Alanah Bergman Graduate Supervisor abergman@bccancer.bc.ca (604) 877-6000
Anna Celler Associate Member aceller@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 875-5252 fax:875-4319
Jens Dilling Adjunct Professor/TRIUMF jdilling@triumf.ca (604) 222-7413
Cheryl Duzenli Adjunct Professor cduzenli@bccancer.bc.ca
Nancy Ford Associate Member nlford@dentistry. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6641
Shannon Kolind Associate Member shannon.kolind@ tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-7773
Piotr Kozlowski Associate Member Piotr.Kozlowski@ tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-3974 / 827-3970
Corree Laule Associate Member claule@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 675-8855
Calum MacAulay Associate Member cmacaula@bccancer.bc.ca (604) 877-6098 x3109 fax:877-6077
Andrew MacFarlane Associate Member wam@chem. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6866
Vitali Moiseenko Adjunct Professor vmoiseenko@ucsd.edu (604) 877-6000 x2100
Takamasa Momose Associate Member momose@chem. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2847
John Ng Adjunct Professor misery@triumf.ca (604) 822-5955
Karl Otto Adjunct Professor kotto@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Tony Popescu Adjunct Professor tpopescu@bccancer.bc.ca (604) 877-6000 x2046
Alexander Rauscher Associate Member rauscher@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-5462
Oliver Stelzer-Chilton Adjunct Professor stelzer-chilton@triumf.ca (604) 222-7681
Jasper Wall Adjunct Professor jvw@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4269
Qing-San Xiang Associate Member xiang@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 875-2131
Stan Yen Adjunct Professor stan@triumf.ca (604) 222-7414
Haishan Zeng Associate Member hzeng@bccrc.ca (604) 877-6098 x3011
Name Title Email Phone Number
Tarek Anous Postdoctoral Fellow tarek@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-
Fabio Boschini Postdoctoral Fellow boschini@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
Daniel Carney Postdoctoral Research Fellow carney@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
Shun Chi Postdoctoral Fellow shun@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
David Cortie Postdoctoral Fellow cortie@triumf.ca (604) 222-1047
Matthias Danninger Postdoctoral Fellow danning@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-7974
James Day Research Associate jday@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Electra Eleftheriadou Postdoctoral Fellow electra@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
Wojtek Fedorko Research Associate wfedorko@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-7974
Torben Ferber Postdoctoral Fellow ferber@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1445
Tom Feusels Postdoctoral Fellow tfeusels@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1047 ext. 6492
Silvia Folk Research Associate luescher@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4334
Oleksandr foyevtsov Postdoctoral Fellow foyevtsov@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2535
Kateryna Foyevtsova Postdoctoral Fellow foyevtsova@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com N/A
Cisco Gooding Postdoctoral Fellow cgooding@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
James Gordon Postdoctoral Research Fellow jbgordon@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2945
Robert Green Postdoctoral Fellow rgreen@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com N/A
Will Gunton Postdoctoral Fellow wgunton@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6356
Felix Haehl Postdoctoral Fellow felix@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-
Nik Hartman Postdoctoral Fellow nhartman@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2535
Eliot Hijano Postdoctoral Fellow ehijano@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-
Alex Hill Research Associate ashill@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (250) 497-2356
Fuhao Ji Postdoctoral Fellow fuhaoji@qmi. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-8210
Steven Johnston Postdoctoral Fellow johnstss@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2945
Mohsen Keshavarz Akhlaghi Postdoctoral Fellow akhlaghi@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2332
Sepideh Khosravi Simchi Postdoctoral Fellow sepideh@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6843
Kyle Lawson Postdoctoral Fellow klawson@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3816
F Giorgio Levy de Castro Research Associate levyg@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Fengmiao Li Postdoctoral Fellow fengmiao.li@qmi. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com N/A
Kiyoshi Masui Postdoctoral Fellow kiyo@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2945
Luke McAlary Postdoctoral Fellow lmcalary@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3816
Jennifer McDonald Sessional Lecturer mcdonald@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-0995
Alexander Mead Postdoctoral Fellow mead@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-8870
Matteo Michiardi Postdoctoral Fellow mmichiardi@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com N/A
Arthur Mills Research Associate millsak@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2894
Alexander Milner Research Associate amilner@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 827-4064
Eric Mintun Postdoctoral Fellow mintun@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
Michele Mossman Research Associate mmossman@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5022
Cihan Okay Postdoctoral Fellow okay@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5527
Xubiao Peng Postdoctoral Fellow xubiaopeng@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822- 3816
Jason Pollack Postdoctoral Fellow jpollack@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 720-7946
Elia Razzoli Postdoctoral Research Fellow razzoli@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com TBA
Andrew Scarff Postdoctoral Research Fellow ascarff@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1445
Agustin Schiffrin Postdoctoral Fellow aschiffr@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1325
Richard Shaw Postdoctoral Fellow richard@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5033
Linda Strubbe Postdoctoral Fellow linda@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com 604 822 5527
Kou Takubo Postdoctoral Fellow takubo@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com NA
Christa Van Laerhoven Postdoctoral Fellow cvl@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6442
Belina Von Krosigk Postdoctoral Fellow bkrosigk@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1047 x6565
Dongsheng Wang Postdoctoral Fellow wds@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3872
Benson Way Postdoctoral Fellow benson@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-
Donald Wiebe Postdoctoral Fellow dvw@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6709
Bingkai Yuan Postdoctoral Fellow bingkai@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-
Name Title Email Phone Number
Boye Ahlborn Professor Emeritus ahlborn@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-9714
Mandana Amiri FPGA Development Engineer mandana@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2585
David Axen Professor Emeritus axen@triumf.ca (604) 822-6327
Sonia Bacca Honorary Lecturer bacca@triumf.ca (604) 222-7372
David Balzarini Professor Emeritus balzarin@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Frances Bates Senior Instructor Emerita elf@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6744
Mario Beaudoin Research Associate beaudoin@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1853
Birger Bergersen Professor Emeritus bergersenbirger@gmail.com
Thor Bjarnason Honorary Lecturer thor@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (250) 826-0722
Stephan Blinder Part time sessional lecturer blinder@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Jesse Brewer Professor Emeritus jess@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4360
James Carolan Professor Emeritus carolan@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5527
Scott Chapman Affiliate Professor Scott.Chapman@Dal.Ca N/A
Frank Curzon Professor Emeritus curzon@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4360
Ronald Dong Honorary Professor rondong@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3898
Pinder Dosanjh Research Engineer dosanjh@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1997
John Eldridge Professor Emeritus eldridge@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4360
Evan Evans Professor Emeritus evans@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-7103
Katie Foote Science Education Specialist kfoote@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5527
Philip Gregory Professor Emeritus gregory@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6341
Walter Hardy Professor Emeritus hardy@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-1997
John Hepburn Professor, current VP Research hepburn@chem. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Jenny Hoffman Affiliate Professor jhoffman@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5831
Geoffrey Hoffmann Professor Emeritus hoffmannvancouver@gmail.com (604) 734-7521
William Hsieh Professor Emeritus whsieh@eos. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-2821
Richard Johnson Professor Emeritus rrj@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3771
Garth Jones Professor Emeritus jones@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Alina Kulpa Sessional Lecturer / RA AMPEL alina@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5106
Harry Lam Honorary Professor lam@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-0330
Peter Martin Professor Emeritus pwmartin137@gmail.com
Sandy Martinuk Sessional Lecturer martinuk@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-5527
William McCutcheon Professor Emeritus mccutche@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-6234
Malcolm McMillan Professor Emeritus mcmillan@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4360
T. K. Menon Professor Emeritus menon@astro. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-0330
Jochen Meyer Professor Emeritus meyer@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
David Morrissey Sessional Lecturer dmorri@triumf.ca
tructiepbongda Andrew Ng Professor Emeritus nga@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Irving Ozier Professor Emeritus ozier@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-9714
Robert Parsons Professor Emeritus parsons@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-3438
Marcello Pavan Sessional Lecturer marcello@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Temporary Researcher Website Test Account tliao@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com
Luda Tchvialeva Honorary Lecturer ltchvial@bccrc.ca (604) 675-8000 x7055
Brian Turrell Professor Emeritus turrell@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4360
Gordon Walker Professor Emeritus gordonwa@uvic.ca (250) 592-6205
Bruce White Professor Emeritus asbw@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4360
David Williams Professor Emeritus williams@physics. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-4219
Jim Zibin Honorary Research Associate zibin@phas. tructiepbongda www.classicalathome.com (604) 822-8568
Website development by Checkmark Media. Designed by Armada.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Science
Department of Physics and Astronomy
6224 Agricultural Road
Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z1
Tel 604.822.3853
Fax 604.822.5324

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | tructiepbongda  | © Copyright The University of British Columbia